Spiritual Counseling – Kundalini Syndrome & Pranic Energy

The ancient Sanskrit word for “vital energy” is prana. It begins to be unleashed into the body from the portal of the root chakra during a Kundalini awakening. Prior to this, the Kundalini remains dormant and coiled precisely three and one half times around the base of the spine. Accompanying the release of the prana, dramatic shifts in consciousness and psychological upheavals will occur in the initiate. A wide array of symptoms are associated with a Kundalini awakening. This is known as “Kundalini syndrome.”

Spiritual Life Coaching – Characteristics of a Kundalini Awakening

A Kundalini arousal brings with it the challenge to transcend the primal drives, instincts, and fears of the egoic mind so that a new stage may be set for the coming unity consciousness of the Next Human. The process of transcendence takes time, however, and may require as the duration of five to ten years after a full-fledged awakening for its entire effect to take root.

Spiritual Life Coaching – Raising the Kundalini Shakti

Raising the kundalini is not difficult but it will only happen when the initiate is ready. I counsel clients from all over the world on the best way to prepare for a kundalini awakening. First, let’s define what the kundalini is. The divine life force energy of the kundalini is polarized into two forms; static and dynamic. The static form is when the kundalini is in the dormant state, coiled precisely three and one half times around the base of the spine. Here it remains until it is awakened into the dynamic state of prana shakti. This dynamic state is also what is being called “dark matter” by scientists today. It is the ether of the cosmos that binds every atom in the universe together. It can also be referred to as “Source Consciousness.”

Spiritual Life Coaching – Symptoms of the Kundalini Awakening/Syndrome

Sometimes the Kundalini Awakening/Syndrome is also referred to as a “spiritual emergency.” In their 1990 book, “The Story Search for Self”, transpersonal psychologists Grof and Grof coin the term “spiritual emergency” to describe the difficult stages of a “profound psychological transformation that involves one’s entire being.” They describe the kundalini awakening as one of ten varieties of spiritual emergencies. Some years later, near-death experience author, Dr. Yvonne Kason, set about creating criteria to differentiate between some undergoing a spiritual emergency and someone experiencing psychosis. She explains that a spiritual emergency is when a person is merely challenged by an altered state experience, where as a psychotic episode is when a person is simply overwhelmed by it.

Spiritual Life Coaching – Five Steps to a Kundalini Awakening

To prepare for a kundalini awakening, it is important to follow five specific steps. The first step is to exercise every day. For stretching, and preparing the nadis and marma points for an upcoming rush of the prana shakti, I recommend either tai chi or yoga to my clients. If you’d like more of a caloric-burning exercise, such as running, cycling, or rollerblading, then I recommend short bursts of intense, high performance sprinting, rather than prolonged, long distance enduring. The exercise does not have to be overly strenuous or time consuming because this actually trains the body to store more fat due to the “endurance stress” that its having to undergo to every day. As a result, you become a slave to your own exercise routine and may end up spending as much as an hour a day to do what you could be doing in less than twenty minutes.

Spiritual Life Coaching – Healing the Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is known as the third eye chakra and it is located in the middle of the forehead linking the eyebrows. In ancient Sanskrit, it is depicted by the indigo Ajna mandala which translates as “command center.” Its energy bestows us with the supernatural ability of clairvoyance, the higher sensory perception to “see” events and images pertaining to the past, present, or future. The third eye allows us to “remote view” other places or people without having to be there in the physical.

Spiritual Life Coaching – Exploring the Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is located at the base of the neck in the throat and is therefore known as the throat chakra. In ancient Sanskrit, it is depicted as the blue Vishuddha mandala which translates as “purity.” Its element is ether and is symbolized by the human being. Its influences include communication, dreaming, artistic expression, self belief, knowledge, discernment, truth, justice, claircognizance, and clairaudience. In the physical body, the throat chakra affects the mouth, teeth, throat, thyroid gland, and the endocrine system.

Spiritual Life Coaching – Healing the Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra and is located in the exact center of the breast cage or chest. In Sanskrit it is represented by the Anahata Mandala which means “un-struck sound.” It is symbolized by four-legged mammals. The lower three chakras related to egoic energy and the higher three chakras relate to the higher self energy and its connectedness with the collective. The heart chakra is the focal point where these to realms converge. It acts as a bridge between the lower self (ego) and the higher self (spirit).